Latest Updates

CRSU Announces West Shore Candidate Endorsements

Capital Region Stands Up (CRSU), a volunteer-led group dedicated to civic education and participation in the political process in Cumberland and Dauphin Counties, announced its endorsement of a number of candidates running for local office in Cumberland County this fall.

“We are excited to support a strong group of candidates running for mayor, school board, borough council and township commissioner,” said Alissa Packer, co-chair of the group.

Endorsement decisions were based on answers to the CRSU Candidate Questionnaire as well as presentations made at the CRSU Virtual Candidate Forum held on September 20.

“We are pleased to see a group of progressive candidates seeking office on the West Shore and will encourage our members to support them.” -- CRSU Leadership Team Member Maggie Loyd

Candidates winning CRSU endorsement include:

  • Camp Hill Borough Council: Michelle Forbes, Jennifer Hoover and Emily Smith

  • Camp Hill School Board: Josceylon Buchs, Melanie Gurgiolo and Karen Mallah

  • East Pennsboro Township Commission: Michael Alsher

  • East Pennsboro School Board: Linda Armstrong and Kristin Mitchem Hoover

  • Hampden Township Commission: Ryan Argot and David Fish

  • Lower Allen Township Commission: Joseph Swartz

  • New Cumberland Mayor: Joan Erney

  • New Cumberland Borough Council: Fred Miles and Robert Hasemeier

  • Upper Allen Township Commission: Karen Overly Smith

Media Contact: Kathy Yorkievitz / / 717-395-0119

Ready to Vote?

Be sure to check your voter registration status ahead of the November 2 election. Already registered? Apply for a mail-in ballot here. The deadline to request an a mail-in ballot is October 26.

To return your mail-in ballot:

  • Mail back when received (make sure to account for the possibility of mail delays)

  • Personally return to Cumberland County Board of Election Office at 1601 Ritner Highway, Carlisle PA 17013

  • Ballot must be received by 8 PM, Tuesday Nov. 2